Happy New Year..oh wait, that is SO 3 months ago!!

Not much has been going on for the past few weeks. Although the holidays are not Jewish, they still have an effect! A very slllloooooowwww effect. But as I have been pouring over my calendar, I see that the ball is about to get rolling now that the proverbial “ball” has dropped into 2015! Happy New Year!…again.

I am looking out my window and it is a very different scene than it was last year. Last year, we had a blizzard warning. Today, I see grass and do NOT see any snow! I am very thankful that as of now, the weathermen have once again been proven wrong in that this winter is not remotely close to last winter. The older I get the farther south I want to move.

7SuLXbS

It is cold and is about to colder though. I found this cartoon and it is sooo me.

Was browsing through some recipes and decided this just might be what I need to battle the winter blues!

Chicken and Spinach Pesto Soup

Ingredients

2 teaspoons plus 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, divided

1/2 cup carrot or diced red bell pepper

1 large boneless, skinless chicken breast (about 8 ounces), cut into quarters

1 large clove garlic, minced

5 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth

1 1/2 teaspoons dried marjoram

10 oz. frozen spinach

1 15-ounce can cannellini beans or great northern beans, rinsed

3 Dorot Basil cubes

1 Dorot Garlic cube

Freshly ground pepper to taste

3/4 cup plain or herbed multigrain croutons for garnish (optional)

Preparation

Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large saucepan or Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add carrot (or bell pepper) and chicken; cook, turning the chicken and stirring frequently, until the chicken begins to brown, 3 to 4 minutes. Add garlic and cook, stirring, for 1 minute more. Stir in broth and marjoram; bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce the heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the chicken is cooked through, about 5 minutes.

With a slotted spoon, transfer the chicken pieces to a clean cutting board to cool. Add spinach and beans to the pot and bring to a gentle boil. Cook for 5 minutes to blend the flavors.

Add basil into the soup

Cut the chicken into bite-size pieces. Stir the chicken into the pot. Season with pepper. Heat until hot. Garnish with croutons, if desired.

May you stay warm, happy, healthy and be blessed in 2015!

Leave a comment